When does Mommy meditate?

Hugo concentrating

Meditating on toy selection?

I’ve been meditating twice a day for a half hour since 2006. I started meditating in 1995 but I hardly ever missed one from 2006 to 2011. And then came Hugo!

I can’t say enough about how regular meditation improved my life. My mind was clearer, there was less noise in my head, I didn’t struggle with decisions, took things a lot less personally, I was more calm and happy – that is just the beginning. It was a lovely thing to share with my husband, too. We meditated together since 2009.

It grew difficult to sit up straight for a half hour sometimes as my pregnancy progressed. By the end of the third trimester, I was usually sitting for only 20 minutes. I had restless leg syndrome, and it was a lot worse in the evening.

I was conscious of hearing my mantra all through my body while pregnant – knowing that the sound was permeating Hugo’s body, too. I had no expectation that I wouldn’t be able to meditate after Hugo arrived. I don’t think I really had any clue what life was going to be like with baby at all.

I was pretty persistent after four years of never missing a meditation. In the hospital, we were constantly  interrupted by a stream of staff members and visitors.

At home, I didn’t wake up for the day until Hugo woke up. Partly to compensate for his night wakings, and I think he and I naturally fell into a sleep rhythm. Especially once he started sleeping with us at five weeks or so.

Hugo nursed a lot in the morning when he was a newborn. At first I meditated while he was nursing, but it was hard not to focus on him. Then he became more active and it was impossible. He does take a regular nap in the mornings now, but I am usually trying to scarf down breakfast and shower before he wakes up.

I have persevered with the evening meditation. Hugo used to take a half hour nap in my lap some time between 4:00 and 7:00 so we could fit it in then. Now he goes to bed between 7:00 and 8:00. That leaves plenty of time to meditate, but sometimes I wait too long and can’t stay awake when I try.

My back muscles are a mess since my pregnancy. I can’t even sit up straight. So many things get in the way when it’s not a habit anymore.

Sometimes when I’m putting Hugo down for a nap or for bedtime, I remember to reconnect with the stillness for a few moments. It helps get me through to the next time and provides some quiet and peace.

There is more space to breathe now. My mind isn’t the Gortex (Go + vortex) that it was the first few months after Hugo was born. I hope that the time opens up soon so I can meditate regularly again. For everyone’s sake.

3 thoughts on “When does Mommy meditate?

  1. You’ve obviously found a meditation that works for you. But there are many variations as well. If you notice online my 50year-old semi retired ass-over-heel tumble called my life, I am almost *constantly* at someone’s beck and call. Tending to an infant would be a staycay I think. In order to maintain my sanity and what semblance of balance I grip to tightly, I practice ‘moving meditation’ which is a form that actually focuses on the movement rather than the still. You put the baby in a papoose, and walk around the block counting steps as you would your breath. There are a couple of more intense visualizations if you are interested. I was trained in med school in advanced QiGong, and this is one way they told us we could walk the wards and still keep a Buddha smile.

    Like

  2. Thank you, Mike. That is a really good reminder for me. I have had experiences with the power that comes from attending to movement or senses in the present moment. You’re right in that it is a lot more practical with an infant than getting a half hour to sit by myself. Mr. Go does love to be in a sling. We’ll try it this week 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: An unexpected gift « Long Live Go

Leave a Reply

