Hugo’s bedtime routine

Go sleeping on the bed

Deceptively peaceful

Since Hugo was born nearly a year ago, I heard that it’s important to develop a bedtime routine with your baby. Familiar cues help babies get to sleep, and it’s better to get in the habit in the early days before you have to do battle at bedtime later on.

Hugo has never been a great sleeper. I’ve done my best to roll with it and I appreciate the good days. It could be a lot worse. He naps twice a day for about an hour and sleeps about 10 1/2 hours at night with a couple of awakenings. He has a cold this week plus his third tooth (finally!) coming in. I can always think of a half dozen reasons why he’s not sleeping well.

Our bedtime routine has shaped up into bath time on alternate days, putting on PJs, brushing his teeth and some quiet play in a semi darkened living room. Sometimes something backfires and he gets wound up. I hate aborting a bedtime attempt and having to do it all over again. Just when I think he’s winding down and nursing to sleep he sits up and says, “Bye bye!” Spending an hour trying to get him to go down is no fun when my husband is only home for a few hours before bedtime.

Recently, when Hugo’s not very tired at bedtime we started watching his own videos on YouTube. It seems like he recognizes himself, but it’s hard to be sure. He did do an encore of peek-a-boo after we watched this one earlier in the week.

Watching the ones from when he was newborn seem to especially amuse him. Whatever it takes.. maybe I’ll figure out what’s different the nights that he sleeps uninterrupted for hours. I think I hear him popping up now.

One thought on “Hugo’s bedtime routine

Leave a Reply

