Who slept through the night?

I had to write while I’m still bubbling with joy. Just shy of 18 months old, Hugo slept through the night –  in his crib!  I thought it was never going to happen. I never regretted our decision not to sleep train, and I still nurse him on demand at night (usually twice) but I was starting to get a little disgruntled about there being no apparent end in sight. Last night, he slept from 9:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. in his crib, only waking when it got light out and noisy birds sang outside his window. He then nursed back to sleep in our bed until 7:00.

We have been co-sleeping since Hugo was a little over a month old. He starts out the night in his crib and we bring him in when he wakes up somewhere between 11:30 and 1:00 lately. I almost always feel rested when we wake up in the morning. Attachment parenting hasn’t been painful for me, but I admit to occasional jealousy of parents whose babies sleep through the night.

So I’ll confide that my goal is to have a weaned Go sleeping in his own bed before we add to our family. We still had 6 months to a year to go by my loose schedule.

It does come to end, even with responding promptly to cries and breastfeeding on demand. Hugo’s growing up!

One thought on “Who slept through the night?

  1. Pingback: Sleeping through the night at two and a half | Long Live Go

Leave a Reply

