An unexpected gift

I welcome, Mommy

Hugo and I were down in the basement playroom today. He was happily occupied with blocks, so I decided to take a few moments to meditate. Less than two minutes later I heard a voice from right in front of me.

“I welcome, Mommy,” and I opened my eyes. Hugo says this when he gives us something and sure enough his little hand was held out towards me with something in it. I stretched out my hand to receive – now, what is that?

A cricket! “Aigh!” I yelled then tried to play it off immediately. I don’t want to pass on any prejudice towards bugs that obviously is not innate in my son. I assumed the reason Hugo was able to pick it up was its deceased status, but it promptly began hopping across the floor. How did he catch it?

I lifted up the slip cover so it could hop under the couch. Too far from an exit to take it outside and I had no interest in squishing it.

“I want bug! I want bug!” Then “[Where] are you, bug?” What a boy.

Leave a Reply

